Groovincible Wins 2016 Best Funk SAMMIE!


We are absolutely floored. Thanks to the readers of the Sacramento News & Review for awarding us “Best Funk” in 2016! It meant a lot to us that we finally took one of these bad boys home!

Big Ups to Joe Johnston at Pus Cavern Recording for making our home recordings sound legit, we love you Joe! This FUNK award wouldn’t be possible without the talents of the funkiest cats in Sacramento… Samuel Phelps & Brian Chris Rogers, two monster musicians with amazing feel and electric stage presence.

Much love to Alexander Voudouris, a critical member of our team who has been there since the beginning–often behind the scenes turning knobs and hosting late night recording/rehearsal sessions.

Finally, one cannot forget to mention the extended GROOVINCIBLE family, those that have contributed to our recordings and live performances: Tony Marks, Noah Nelson, Damian Sol, Dean Haakenson, Robert Gillis, Sacsown Riz, Joshua Cambridge, Mark H. Miller, Anthony Coleman II, Edward Hurff, & Catie Murphy Turner. This award belongs to you guys!

View the full list of this year’s winners here.

Nominated for a 2016 SAMMIE!


We are happy to announce that Groovincible has been nominated for a 2016 SAMMIE AWARD (for the third time in a row) by the readers of SN&R! Thanks you guys!

Groovincible is honored to be listed among the finest bands in Sacramento. We don’t actively campaign for nominations, so it means SOOO MUCH to us that you guys chose US to represent Sacramento for BEST FUNK. If you wanna check out the full list of nominees click HERE. If you wish to vote, you can do so HERE.

Voting ends March 7th, 2016

Download the New Single “Dwarf Star” for FREE


Dean Haakenson – Lead Vocal
Jacob Gleason – Tenor Saxophone, Guitar, FX, Artwork
Matt Klee – Drums
Brian Chris Rogers – Bass
Sam Phelps – Clavinet, Electric Piano, Synth
Bianca Wright – Background Vocals


Lyrics by Dean Haakenson. Music produced by Groovincible. Engineered and Edited by Jacob Gleason. Dean’s vocal engineering and FX by Alexander Voudouris. Bianca’s vocal engineering by Joe Johnston.

Mixed & Mastered by Joe Johnston at Pus Caven Studios, Sacramento CA.

All rights reserved. Copyright 2015.

For the Funk of It 2015!

Tickets are now available to For the Funk of It Music Festival in Belden, CA, August 14–16, 2015. All tickets are will call. After purchasing tickets, your name will be added to the list with the type and number of tickets you purchased. When you arrive at the front gate have your photo ID ready, we will check that your name is on the list, then the Funk is on!!!!

Groovincible performs at 7:15pm on Friday, August 14th.

Multi-instrumentalist Jacob Gleason will be an “Artist at Large” all weekend!

Check it out on Facebook

Groovincible to Headline Shannapalooza Festival!


We are super excited for this festival! We are HEADLINING this year on Saturday night, June 6th at Swabbies On The River! This is going to be a super fun event packed with talent like Joy and Madness, Afrofunk Experience, Big Sticky Mess, and more! Get all the details below…

It’s time for the 9th Shannapalooza Annual Music Festival! And this year is Shanna’s 40th birthday so it’s an extra special event!

$8 Cover charge for adults
Free for kids
All ages

Check it out on Facebook

Friday June 5th and Saturday June 6th

Friday’s Band Line-up:

Joy & Madness
Big Sticky Mess

Saturday’s Band Line-up:

The Afrofunk Experience
In The No
Cardel Daniels & Friends

Webcasting during the live event courtesy of Video Streaming Services LLC.

To watch the live concert from home over the internet, simply visit during the show and turn up your speakers!

Hope to see you there!

Jacob Gleason of Groovincible performing with Bellygunner at the Sammies!


This photo was featured on Capitol Public Radio‘s website.

Members of three SAMMIE Nominated bands: Bellygunner, Groovincible, and Element Brass Band teamed up to deliver a 9-piece hybrid band! Read more about the SAMMIES Award show here!


The complete Bellygunner set from the Sacramento News & Review Sammies Award Show. Jacob Gleason (Tenor Sax from Groovincible) worked with Christopher Gabriel Nelson to make the horn chart for “Sextoy Sextoy” and it was performed by Chris Hall on Baritone Sax, and Aaron Smith & Justin Au (from Element Brass Band) on Trumpet at Ace of Spades.

New Single from Drunken Kungfu feat. members of Groovincible!


Sam Phelps – Vocals, Keys, Guitars, Bass
Matt Klee – Drums
Bianca Wright – Vocals
Lara Ullery – Vocals
Jacob Gleason – Saxophones, Artwork


Lyrics by Sam Phelps. Music produced by Drunken Kungfu. Engineered and Edited by Sam Phelps and Rich Tereshinski.

Mixed by Rich Tereshinski at Freedom Ring Productions, Sacramento CA.

All rights reserved. Copyright 2015.